My journey to Codecademy Doc ๐Ÿ“ƒ

My journey to Codecademy Doc ๐Ÿ“ƒ

From Twitter to Open Source

ยท

2 min read

Little bit about me

Hey Hashnode community, nice to meet y'all ๐Ÿ‘‹! Today I've decided to switch to Hashnode for blogging purposes โœ. My previous blog was on Medium if you're curious.

I'm a 17-year-old teen who is currently enrolled in high school. In my spare time, I study computer science on my own on the Internet. My coding journey started last year when Malaysia was in full lockdown state due to the pandemic.

My main interests include software engineering, data science & entrepreneurship. Oh yeah, I am a big fan of blockchain/cryptocurrency-related stuff & currently learning bout it. I love writing TypeScript/JavaScript, Next.js, Redux, GraphQL, Node.js, MongoDB, and PostgreSQL. I am also a Chapter Lead at Codecademy Community Kuala Lumpur Chapter , I host events regularly there and also one of the early contributors behind Codecademy Docs .

Okay, let's talk about my journey to contributing to OSS documentation.

Note: This is not an advertisement!

My journey

It all started in June 2021 when I spotted a tweet from Sonny Li (A Senior Curriculum Developer at Codecademy) announcing a job for a Content Contributor. I DMed him however I'm ineligible for the role for a variety of reasons. He then showed me an open-source repository ( Codecademy Docs ) and asked if I want to help out. And I agreed โœ…!

After that, I'm always contributing, learning new things, and receiving feedback on what I've written in my pull requests. As of now, I have successfully contributed over 25+ entries in Codecademy Docs. All I have to say is that "Quality Pull Requests" matter; always prioritize quality over quantity.

Untitled.png

Then recently, I was blown away by this shout-out from Codecademy. I'm so so so happy!!

FBBFb0fX0AEu6h0.png

Since my joining, Codecademy Docs has grown from 40+ forks to over 100+ forks on GitHub. Aside from that, Codecademy Docs is a part of Hacktoberfest, a yearly event organized by DigitalOcean in the month of October. Codecademy Docs is open-source & everyone is able to contribute their part to it.

Last but not least, thanks to Sonny Li for giving me this opportunity to be one of the early contributors behind the documentation ๐Ÿฅฐ. That's my story ๐Ÿฅณ!

Feel free to connect with me on Twitter .